SearchDirectoriesHelpSite MapHome
Wake Forest University

News Releases

WFU Board of Trustees elects members, officers

By Kevin Cox
April 6, 2004

In its April 2 meeting, the Wake Forest University Board of Trustees elected new trustees and its 2004-2005 officers.

Murray C. Greason Jr. of Winston-Salem was re-elected board chairman. He is an attorney with Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice. L. Glenn Orr of Winston-Salem was re-elected vice chairman. Orr is president of the Orr Group.

The following people were elected as first-time members of the board: Bobby R. Burchfield of Washington, D.C., a partner with Covington and Burling; Donna A. Boswell of Washington, D.C., an attorney with Hogan and Hartson; and James W. Judson of Roswell, Ga., vice president of Credit Hawk LLC.

James A. Dean, a Wake Forest junior from Pickerington, Ohio, was elected as the student trustee.

Current members re-elected to the board were: Lisbeth C. Evans of Winston-Salem, secretary of the N.C. Department of Cultural Resources; Graham W. Denton Jr. of Charlotte, executive vice president of Bank of America; and Greason.

Former members re-elected to the board were: Diana M. Adams of Bartlesville, Okla., vice chairman of the board of Adams Investment Company; William B. Greene Jr. of Elizabethton, Tenn., chairman of Carter County Bank; Deborah D. Lambert of Raleigh, partner with Johnson Lambert & Co.; Celeste Mason Pittman of Rocky Mount; J. Donald Cowan Jr. of Raleigh, attorney with Smith Moore LLP; William L. Marks of New Orleans, chairman and chief executive officer of Whitney National Bank; and Charles Jeffrey Young of Winston-Salem, president and chief executive officer of Drexel Heritage Furnishings Inc.

John G. Medlin Jr. of Winston-Salem was elected a life trustee. Medlin, who has previously served four terms on Wake Forest’s board of trustees, is chairman emeritus of the Wachovia Corporation.

Download Text File

WFU News Website Search

Wake Forest
Wake Forest University • Winston-Salem, North Carolina • Information: 336.758.5000 | Feedback