SearchDirectoriesHelpSite MapHome
Wake Forest University

News Releases

Wake Forest forms committee to lead search for new provost

October 25, 2006

Wake Forest University has formed a committee to lead the search for a new provost.  Wake Forest President Nathan O. Hatch will chair the committee composed of representatives from each of the university’s academic units.

Provost William C. Gordon announced this month that he will step down as provost at the end of the 2006-2007 academic year.  Gordon added that his plan, at present, is to remain at Wake Forest as a member of the faculty after taking a leave of absence to prepare for the transition from administration to faculty.

During the search, the committee will work with a nationally recognized search firm to assist with identifying prospective candidates.

The committee is scheduled to meet for the first time on Oct. 26, and a new provost is expected to be appointed by July 1.

Committee members include the following:

  • Sylvain H. Boko, Zachary T. Smith Associate Professor of Economics
  • Matthew S. Cullinan, vice president for administration
  • Michele K. Gillespie, Kahle Associate Professor of History
  • J. Kline Harrison, Kemper Professor of Business and associate dean, Calloway School of Business and Accountancy
  • George E. (Rick) Matthews, chair and professor of physics
  • Michelle L. Roehm, associate professor and Board of Visitors Fellow in Marketing, Babcock Graduate School of Management
  • Margaret Supplee Smith, professor of art
  • Joseph R. Tobin, professor and section head, department of pediatric anesthesiology and pediatric critical care, School of Medicine
  • Neal H. Walls, associate professor, Divinity School
  • Eric G. Wilson, chair and Thomas H. Pritchard Professor of English
  • Ronald F. Wright Jr., professor of law, School of Law

Press Contacts:

Kevin Cox
(336) 758-5237

Cheryl Walker
(336) 758-5237

Search News Archive

Wake Forest University • Winston-Salem, North Carolina • Information: 336.758.5000 | Feedback