SearchDirectoriesHelpSite MapHome
Wake Forest University

News Releases

Wake Forest forms committee to lead search for Graduate School dean

September 6, 2006

Wake Forest University has formed a committee to lead the search for a new dean of the university's Graduate School of Arts and Sciences.

Gordon A. Melson retired as dean June 30. Cecilia H. Solano is serving as interim dean.

The search committee was announced by William C. Gordon, Wake Forest's provost, and William B. Applegate, senior vice president of Wake Forest University Health Sciences and dean of the Wake Forest School of Medicine.

Mark E. Welker, Wake Forest's associate provost for research and William L. Poteat Professor of Chemistry, will chair the committee composed of representatives of both Wake Forest campuses—Reynolda and Bowman Gray.

The committee will solicit input from graduate faculty and students through meetings with the university's Graduate Council members, Graduate School program directors, and university department chairs. The committee will also hold open forums with faculty and students.

The committee will keep faculty, students and staff informed about the progress of the search during the 2006-2007 academic year. Candidates will be interviewed in early 2007. A new dean is expected to be appointed by July 1.

During the search, the committee will work with a nationally recognized search firm to assist with identifying prospective candidates.

Committee members include the following:

  • Terry A. Baker, PriceWaterhouseCoopers Associate Professor of Accountancy
  • Deborah L. Best, dean of the College and William L. Poteat Professor of Psychology
  • Keith D. Bonin, professor of physics
  • Dale Dagenbach, chair and professor of psychology
  • Jay R. Kaplan, professor and head of comparative medicine, department of pathology; professor of anthropology
  • Jennifer Kiger, graduate student in molecular genetics and Graduate Student Association representative to the Graduate Council
  • Kathleen A. Kron, chair and professor of biology
  • Douglas S. Lyles, chair and professor of biochemistry
  • Leah P. McCoy, associate professor of education
  • Martha A. Alexander-Miller, associate professor of microbiology-immunology
  • Michelle J. Naughton, professor and section head, social and behavioral sciences, department of social sciences and health policy within the division of public health sciences; professor of surgery-orthopedics
  • Patricia A. Nixon, associate professor of health and exercise science
  • David R. Riddle, associate professor of neurobiology and anatomy
  • Sally A. Shumaker, associate dean for research at Wake Forest School of Medicine

Press Contacts:

Kevin Cox
(336) 758-5237

Cheryl Walker
(336) 758-5237

Search News Archive

Wake Forest University • Winston-Salem, North Carolina • Information: 336.758.5000 | Feedback